Nowadays, traffic is a serious problem in big cities. Why this is so and what effects does it bring? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The urban population has been rapidly growing over the last few decades and this has led to the traffic problem in some cities. This essay will investigate the reasons for traffic congestion in cities and the ways of improving this scenario in the modern metropolis. The first step is to understand why traffic has increased in towns and cities. Broadly speaking, there are two main reasons for this. One is that cars have become more affordable for the average consumer and they are no longer a luxury item, but something that most families expect to own. On the other hand, people prefer to live in places where they can find a decent job. Often big metropolises are the hearts of business life and create opportunities for a career. For example, in Ukraine, most IT companies have their offices in the capital of the country. If the young community want to work in this field, they are more likely to move to the metropolises. This means more people are prepared to commute to work by car than they were before. One of the ways to minimize the harm is decentralization. It means the government has to support businesses in rural areas and create opportunities in different parts of the country. In my opinion, many folks would rather stay in their hometown if they are able to develop a career there. Furthermore, another option has to be to improve the reliability of public transport to encourage people to take the bus or the train rather than get in the car. To conclude, traffic is mainly caused by overpopulation and people ’s reliance on their own cars. If governments provide more facilities and encourage people to use public transport, I am sure that the level of traffic will decline in the near future.