Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people argue that government is misusing the government funds on the arts and they should use the funds to invest some other areas. This essay totally agrees with that statement. I believe that government should invest funds on roads and transport which will benefit people more than using the funds on the arts which does not offer much revenue, social and economic benefits. The economy needs reliable infrastructure to connect supply chains and efficiently move goods and services across borders. Infrastructure connects households across metropolitan areas to higher quality opportunities for employment, healthcare and education. In Australia, governement has spend billions on infrastructure projects, such as WestConnex and Sydney Metro which has created lots of opportunities for employment and less time people spend commuting since Sydney Metro starts running. On the other hand, art is imagination and it is not real. Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Art itself does not offer much revenue, social and economic benefits. In Australia, governement has spent billions on the Crown theatre project in Melboune. The project was taken 5 years to finish. After the project finished, many local residents complaint about the noise due to part of the theatre is an open stage. In conclusion, government investment in the arts is a waste of meoney; it does not offer much revenue, social and economic benefits whereas government should invest funds on roads and transport which provides opportunities for employment, healthcare and education.