Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer.

It is argued by many, whether or not citizens of a democratic country should have the right to speech. In my opinion, freedom of speech is one of the most important fundamental rights of a free society because what's the point of independence if you can not even share your thoughts freely. To begin with, if the government is going to control what a person can or cannot speak, then they are even worst than a monarch, at least they did not pretend to run a democratic country. Freedom to express an opinion is one of the social rights of a citizen and a benchmark for a free society. Moreover, people want their voice to be heard and any kind of restriction imposed on them to abide by limited speech makes them feel their rights have been violated. For example, when a curfew was declared under unlikely situations, and people were not allowed to meet in groups, they felt that they are being suppressed by force. On the other hand, freedom to speak should not be mistaken as uttering anything as one wishes. Individuals should keep in mind that others have feeling to and one should exert their rights accordingly. Words are more powerful than weapons and they should be used nicely and wisely, For instance, especially, political leaders should be careful while using their prerogative to exchanging messages with other governments to avoid any serious conflicts during wartime. Thus, to sum up, everyone should be allowed to enjoy the right of speech and each individual should be cautious while using their language.