Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, many people tend to use more of their free time on their smartphones instead of other activities. There were several thoughts on what the causes of this might be and whether it was an advantageous change or not. In my opinion, this development yields more negative results than positive ones. One of the main reasons behind this phenomenon was the need for usage. With the rise of new means of connecting with others, those who wanted to constantly stay in touch with their friends and families will either call or text via their smartphones. Phones were also a great gadget to consider when one needed some information on the Internet. Smartphones could be used for entertainment reasons like listening to music or watching a movie. This was one way people might be able to relax in their free time. Mobile games were also something only smartphones can provide. Moreover, people could read the news online after work. Spending more time on phones, however, has many drawbacks. One of the most prominent ones was that our health could be damaged. If we looked at the screen for an extended period of time, our eyes would have to work harder than normal, causing them to be tired; sitting in one place using a smartphone could potentially lead to a higher chance of heart disease. With no exercise, our health would degrade dramatically. According to the University of North California, people who used phones more than 8 hours per day have about 10% higher chance of getting cancer than those who used less than 8 hours. In conclusion, although the reasons behind the increase in time spent on smartphones were due to the benefits phones bring, excessive usage of them might be detrimental to the users' general health.