In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some nations, individuals deem it very necessary to possess a home instead of leasing one. There are different reasons for this, some of which will be ventilated in this essay. In my opinion, this is a positive development. To begin, having complete ownership of a property such as one’s place of residence can serve as a source of generational inheritance. That is, it can be passed down from one generation to another. For example, in some parts of Nigeria, when a man who owned his own home dies, his first son is entitled to the home. As a result, his offspring do not have to spend any money acquiring a new home rather the money can be used for renovating the property to suit their taste. Furthermore, possessing one’s accommodation can give an individual a sense of accomplishment because he feels he has achieved a feat not everyone can. For instance, a person who owns his own home is likely to be more satisfied with it than a person who is renting. Also, because of the rules that come with renting some places, a person might not have the liberty to decorate the property as he wishes as opposed to if the place belonged to him. For example, some landlords pick the exact color that the property should be painted without any care for the tenant’s preferences. In conclusion, I believe it is a good thing to own one’s house because it can serve as a legacy, provide an individual with a sense of achievement, and allows a good level of autonomy.