Some people think that you can only learn about the cultures of different places by traveling there. Other people think that you can learn just as much about these places from reading books and watching travel documentaries about them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many are of the opinion that knowledge of different cultures can only be learned by visiting places, while others say that books and travel documentaries can play the same role. I firmly believe that travelling is best way to examine the traditions. This essay will examine how travelling helps people to learn new language and gain first hand experience along with,how books and documentaries can also help to obtain versatile information. To begin with, it is true that travelling provides an oppertunity to learn new language and gain first hand experience. This is because,when you visit a new place, you ought to understand their native langauge in order to communicate. Moreover, it also helps to acquire personal experience which is far much more lasting than just hearing or reading about it. To illustrate, foreigners visiting India has reported that they found India much more interesting in terms of their values and customs and learned the Hindi language, than just watching an Indian documentary. On the other hand, gaining knowledge of different places through journals and movies helps to cover majority of places. This is because, it becomes difficult for people to travel all over the world due to lack of time and financial resources. Futhermore, magazines and cinema's has made such good documentaries that it becomes easy for people to explore cultures in just one click with better understanding. For example,a documentary made on Safari dessert region helps to know about that place without experincing its harsh conditions. To conclude, It is absolutely true that reading and watching books and movies helps to explore places vastly, however personal experience and language learning can only be gained through travelling these places.