In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, people have different thoughts when it comes to punish the lawbreakers. Some believe every rule breaker must be punished whereas the others oppose that view. In fact I also believe there should be a fine line in between which should be punished and which should be not. Because if a person with minor offences goes to the jail, he will not be the same person when he come out from the jail. Firstly, the societies where we live believe, if a person goes to jail that means he is a criminal. This leads the other folks not to associate that person. That innocent person may have gone to the prison wrongfully or it may be a minor driving offence. Hence, he will be a worthless person to the society. Furthermore, there are lots of news articles about such people suicide themselves or even become serial killers. But if the judge pardons them or even if they were ordered to do community work, this could be a different scenario. Moreover when innocent citizens jailed, they automatically become victims of the dons who runs little thug clusters inside. To stay unharmed they have to become part of those groups and has to abbey the leaders orders. Once they build up such connections, they come out of jail as a real criminal. And of course the society will again plot the seeds to criticise that victim. To conclude, even though the correction centres are made for criminals, every crime cannot be measured in same way. Therefore I strongly believe minor rule breakers must be given at least a second chance to correct themselves.