In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, people have different thoughts when it comes to punishing the lawbreakers. Some believe every rule-breaker must be punished, whereas others oppose that view. I personally believe there should be a fine line in between which should be punished and which should be not. In light of the fact that, if a person with minor offences goes to cell, he will not be the same person when he comes out of jail. Firstly, the societies where we live believe, if a person goes to jail that means he is a criminal. This leads the other folks not to associate with that person. That innocent person may have gone to prison wrongfully or it may be a minor driving offence. Hence, he will be a worthless person to society. Furthermore, there are lots of news articles about such people suicide themselves or even become serial killers. But if the judge pardons them or even if they were ordered to do community work, this could be a different scenario. Moreover, when innocent citizens are sentenced to the penitentiary, they automatically become victims of the dons who runs little thug clusters inside. To stay unharmed they have to become part of those groups and have to abbey the leaders' orders. Once they build up such connections, they come out of jail as a real criminal. And of course, society will again plot the seeds to criticise that victim. To conclude, even though the correction centres are made for criminals, every crime cannot be measured in the same way. Therefore I strongly believe minor rule-breakers must be given at least a second chance to correct themselves.