In some countries it is illegal to refuse people applying for jobs because of their age. Is it a positive or a negative development, in your opinion?

Denying job opportunities on the basis of advanced age is considered a crime in few countries. However, in my opinion, it is a negative development because it can affect the overall progress of a nation. This essay will discuss in the first paragraph, how old age medical issues have an impact and in the second paragraph how familial responsibilities affect the working capacity of an employee. Firstly, as the age advances, a plethora of physical problems hampers the energy level of an individual. People in their old age suffer not only from hypertension, diabetes and joint pain but also from lack of concentration, memory impairment and lethargy. Therefore, work done by such employees most of the time hinders quality as well as punctuality in comparison with the youngsters. In addition to that, an employer may need to bear additional expenses on the health management of their elderly staff, probably more than younger ones. Resultantly financial loss happens, which consequently has a considerable negative impact on the economy of a community. For instance, a cooperative bank in my town called ' The Saraswat Bank', lately retired Mr Singh a 60 years old accountant because of his excess leaves due to fitness issues. Secondly, the life of the aged people is often multifaceted with owning responsibilities of family. Even though they are committed to their jobs, family problems, conflicts and responsible parenthood sometimes weaken them. Moreover, these people are more intrigued with social interaction and their image, which forces them to be available in social gatherings such as marriage and engagement parties. As a result life of elderly people is more complicated, additionally they are more distracted and indisciplined. For example, Mrs Deshpande in my neighbourhood usually works less than a year in one office because she was then dismissed by an employer due to intervention of her family commitments in her job. Thus, this results in a waste of time and money for the employers and eventually what gets hampered, is their progress. In conclusion, referring to the economical detrimental effect of appointing old age people is an utterly negative development in my opinion.