Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We live in a modern technology where technological advancements are causing things to change rapidly. One among them is the replacement of public libraries with computers. Many folks think that it is better to use computer technology in place of public libraries as they are a waste of time. I radically believe the statement is true. To begin with, there are a plethora of advantages in opting for an alternative. Firstly, space and maintenance issues. In other words, libraries consume a lot of space and a lot of effort goes into their maintenance. But in the case of computers, things are quite different, opposite to be precise. For example, the Public library in Hyderabad is funded in lakhs only for its maintenance and preserving books. If the same books were stored in the computers in the form of PDFs, the requirement of funds can be reduced to most extend. Furthermore, a person has to travel to a library which causes stress. If he/she stays close to a library then good else the stress can mitigate your interest to read. If the books are sent via email then one has more time to spend on reading and understanding things better. On the other hand, there are a couple of cons that cannot be ignored. Lack of access to technology is a primary concern. For instance, most of the villages doesn't have proper access to the internet. Even if a villager buys a computer, there is no use of it with about the web in terms of library functions as no data can be exchanged between librarian and him. Secondly, not all of them are comfortable changing their habits. For example, old age people who are used to read in traditional methods may not opt for computers as it is quite difficult for them though it is quite different in the case of their offspring. These things can be reduced to a greater extent if the government develops their villages and young people helping their elders. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons in changing. Since the merits outweigh the demerits, opting for a change is definitely worth it.