Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Parents of any ethnicity would like their kids to be outstanding, therefore, they often exert a plethora of pressure on their children. It is mainly because parents have faith that success is directly proportional to income which can give them a better quality of life. Favorable consequences of children growing up under heavy pressure will be elucidated further with appropriate examples. Parents usually push their kids to work hard because they believe it is beneficial for them in the long run. In the ancient times, it was hard to make a living and young people had to invest a lot of effort to get a proper job with a steady income. Having gone through those difficult times, the conviction of hard work leading to success has anchored in their mindsets. Hence, they push their children since young age so that they can live lucrative lives in the future. For example, some adults send their kids to musical instrument lessons such as piano and violin since they were in elementary school with the expectation that they can become famous musicians down the road. This method of upbringing may influence the children’s future in a positive way. Although they may have to sacrifice some leisure time in their childhood, they will struggle less when they are of age. For example, a child of excellent academic records, because of strict parents, has more opportunities for acceptance from world renowned universities. Subsequently, the individual can receive attractive job opportunities that pays extravagantly. To conclude, guardians may seem as demanding and pushy, however, they solely want their offspring to enjoy a good life when they grow up. In spite of growing up under stress, those well-disciplined individuals have better prospects for their future. Thus, parent’s involvement and guidance are undeniably beneficial for kids.