Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socializing online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Research findings indicate that adolescents nowadays would rather get together via social networking sites than communicate face-to-face with one another. From my perspective, there exist several reasons behind the aforementioned phenomenon, which could be redeemed by some specific solutions to promote teens to spend less time hanging out online. Concerning the explanation behind the increasing use of social media for interaction, it is the advanced modern technology that fosters communication between individuals by establishing a virtual world to gather everyone online, thus dispensing with real-life distances and obstacles. In other words, thanks to all social networking sites and the like, socialization among people would not be as convenient, accessible and affordable as it is now. For example, decades ago, letters and hand-written mails would travel great distances to reach the recipients, making contact between humans very troublesome, not to mention the case when the address was misspelt. Though, things now have changed but for the invention of cyberspace. Nevertheless, as convenient and speedy as the virtual world is, it has made daily conversation and real-life contact less frequent, which should be given ways to ameliorate the situation. The optimum approach would be cutting down on hours spent chatting online and substitute it by sparing quality moments with family and friends. Furthermore, adolescents should be tutored to fully realize the core values of life, which lies in having a whale of a time with beloveds in reality. For instance, teens should turn off inessential notifications during the conversation, attempt to chat face-to-face instead of texting, or they could try partaking in volunteer work, charity work or even social clubs to make more friends. All things considered, while there appear to be many reasons for the predominance of social networking sites such as their great convenience, young adults ought to leave their phones beside to enjoy their life with fellows and relatives. Therefore, I believe it would be better off to use social media moderately to live our lives to the fullest.