SOME PEOPLE FOCUS ON NEWS IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY, WHILE OTHERS THINK IT IS MORE IMPORTANT TO BE AWARE OF INTERNATIONAL NEWS. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

It is argued by some that people should give attention to local news, whereas others believe that listening to foreign news is more vital. This essay discusses both viewpoints and then concludes with my own opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument are people who are of the opinion that it is of the essence to concentrate on local news. One good reason for this notion is that people could be kept abreast of information on recent occurrences in their own country which will enable them to take certain decisions that will be of benefit to them. For instance, the news about the recent flood (natural disaster) in Bayelsa state was announced on the radio and local television stations, and this enabled the inhabitants especially those whose homes were affected but reside in other states to find means to vacate the area temporarily. Furthermore, local news is delivered not only in English but also in the native languages in the country, hence, the uneducated citizens irrespective of their tribes are opportune to listen to reports of recent events in their mother tongue. On the other hand are people who argue that listening to foreign news is more crucial. Firstly, keeping up with international news avails one the opportunity to explore the world from home. In other words, it gives the citizens an idea of the latest events taking place in other countries. To illustrate, the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic from Wuhan in 2019 was televised in an international news station for the world to view Secondly, the world is globally connected, as a result, political, social and economic changes in one country often trigger shifts in another country. It is therefore important that announcement are not gotten only from domestic sources because foreign report enables people to trace the impact of decisions and events in one country into others. For instance, information such as foreign exchange rates which affects international business transactions is sourced from foreign news. In conclusion, it is apparent that both sides of the argument have merits. However, I would agree that local and international news are indispensable because they provide us with information on recent occurrences domestically as well as globally, and this affects our decision making.