Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years the infrastructure boom is increasing to cater for the demand of the population. Some argue that investing in rail lines would be beneficial while others claim that improvements to highways would be ideal. I completely agree first statement as this may encourage people to use the public shipping system and convoys are more efficient than other modes of public transit. Firstly, rehabilitation or construction of track would motivate private vehicle users to use the caravan. The majority of workers, for example, travel from Jaffna to Kilinochchi daily by their personal vehicles. If there are frequent and better train services available, they will switch to private to public transportation, resulting in a decrease in CO2 emissions to the atmosphere. Thus, the more the government invest in railways, the less air and noise pollution to the environment. Secondly, the track could accommodate many people at the same time compared to buses. For instance, a survey conducted by the Metro transit Agency summarized that the travellers prefer convoy whereas no traffic congestion occurs which lead to reducing the travel time. Moreover the metro has the capacity to accommodate 20 times more people than buses. Hence, it makes clear that putting money on the railway would definitely advantage to the government as well as citizens. In conclusion, investing more in railway rather than road will bring many benefits however, it might lead to accidents due to frequent running of the caravan. In order to strike a balance between highways and railways, relevant authorities should thoroughly analyse the feasibility of each and every possible way.