Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

With the continuous evolution of industry and economy, more people are moving to urban areas. In this essay, I will analyse how this phenomenon entails serious issues like young crime and air pollution, along with identifying possible steps to be taken by governments and individual people to face these problems. Big cities, despite being places full of opportunities for everybody, can present some hidden problems, like young misdemeanour and pollution. Firstly, living in the slums, teenagers can easily get involved in criminal activities and, without strict parental control, it is easy to get lost in the appealing rewards that robbery and drug dealing can present. For instance, studying and following a career path seems to be too hard, uneducated youngsters feel that illegal activities can be more fruitful and rewarding. In addition, the rising population density can lead to an increasingly higher number of car vehicles that produce air particles. In the city of New York, for example, the levels of carbon monoxide in the air have increased fourfold in the last ten years. To solve these problems, both individuals and cabinets should take action. On one side, parents should be more present in their children’s lives, in order to address them through a school and career path that prevents them to end up unemployed, while giving them stronger morals. Second, alongside that, people should also try and reduce their car usage, preferring more public transport-based mobility. Governments, on the other side, should implement public transport infrastructures to make them more appealing and, accordingly, more convenient to the workers in the cities. Furthermore, if cabinets funded policies aimed at increasing job positions for teenagers, besides facing petty criminals with stricter punishments, maybe we could witness a strong decrease in teenage crime. To conclude, very few would deny that with the growth of urban areas are coming many issues. In this essay, I discussed how this phenomenon has caused the overall increase of young crime and pollution. In addition, I presented possible solutions to tackle these issues that could be realized by single individuals on a more personal and familiar basis, as well as by the governments on a larger scale.