The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons to your answer and include any relevant examples.

In this modern era of technology, everything is moving towards digitalization. Similarly, shopping has also changed its ways by switching products online. However, I disagree with the statement that increases in online shopping will eventually lead to the closing of shops in the city. Although there are many websites launched now which sell household essentials, clothing and other things but there are many things that people still prefer to buy by visiting the outlets or offline stores in order to minimize the risk of getting the wrong product. For example, if a person wants to buy a piece of jewellery, he will visit the outlet and figure out the quality, the design and then buy the genuine piece. Hence, in a country like India, buying jewellery or a plot that has a good monetary value is an investment so people rather than going online, buy it offline. Secondly, local vendors are easy to approach even in an emergency while online shopping is time-consuming when compared to delivery facilities. Furthermore, most people go shopping for their leisure. In the research, carried out by Oxford University, 70% of the people, especially females, go shopping in malls and other places just for refreshment. They not only consider it as a fun activity but also it is a stress buster for them. Hence, offline stores will never lose their importance. To conclude, I strongly believe that there hasn’t been a fear of risk in online shopping, it would have flourished more and gained people trust even when buying valuable products. But due to this, people will always like to explore the new products in the markets by going out of their homes. Therefore, online shops will not affect the shops in cities and towns much.