Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are arguments about whether the best idea to improve public health is by creating more sports facilities, whereas other people believe that it is not sufficient to make a significant impact. From my standpoint, I agree with the latter viewpoint because there are a number of individuals who cannot afford to go to sports facilities and there are alternative ways to improve the quality of health. On the one hand, it could be accepted that sports facilities support all ages to improve their well-being. These places provide tools such as gym equipment and personal trainers to explain, motivate, and create programs based on what we need. Nonetheless, the payment to gain all of this should not be overlooked because renting a place for practice and hiring a trainer may lead to high costs. For instance, I conducted interviews at a gymnasium in Medan, Indonesia, and 63% of those with gym memberships said the price is extremely expensive for those who do not have a stable job yet. On the other hand, there are many activities to lead a healthy life without spending much money that also benefit the wellness of individuals. First of all, everyone could go jogging every morning before starting other activities to improve cardiovascular health. Additionally, people should eat healthy food such as vegetables and fruits and try to avoid fast food because they have harmful effects on the body. For example, a research paper from a lecturer at the University of Indonesia emphasizes that incorporating physical activity into daily life is a wise choice because it will boost people’s spirit throughout the day and can prevent various infectious diseases. In conclusion, although increasing the number of sports centres can lead to improved public health, I firmly believe that this would have little impact on community health and there are some ways which are more affordable and efficient to be done.