One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the improvement of healthcare is one of the main contributors that make people living in a prolonged life, which has come to a disputation considering the merits and the demerits of the phenomenon. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of the increase in life expectancy offset the benefits entailed by the state of affairs. On the one hand, the extension of life expectancy has several benefits for not only the elderly people but also their own family as well. This is due to the fact that those people will be more pleasing as their time for enjoyment after retirement is increased. For instance, they can travel and have a prime time with their friends. Moreover, the pensioners will be able to look after their grandchild and house for the family. As a consequence, working parents will be relieved about their childcare while at work. On the other hand, the increase in lifespan can contribute to disadvantageous life to the upcoming generations. This is because elderly people can delay their retirement in the company. Consequently, the job availability will be decreased and that lead to the unemployment of the younger ones. Moreover, it is not good for a particular country as well since they are not as vital as the young generation for long-term development in the near future. In conclusion, although there are several merits for both elderly one and their family, the demerits can bring severe impacts on the young generation, being an essential empower of new advancement in the country. Therefore, I would argue that increase in life expectancy is a non-benefit to any country.