Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The vast majority of people are convinced that authorities should provide different types of financial support for outstanding artists and painters, while others believe that art is not as important as other spheres. This essay partially agrees with such a viewpoint only partially, and firstly it will discuss the importance of art in society. Secondly, it will provide some arguments why the authorities should finance other social spheres rather than art. Proponents argue that governmental support can be effective for development in music and art. It is evident that if the government will not finance this industry, it could lead to a lack of art and culture. Undoubtedly, music and art is one of the important parts of society, so there should be financing of these spheres. For instance, in Russia the government always supports various art galleries and theaters because they are national attractions and millions of people visit them every year. However, there are reasons why the financing of music and art is not necessary at times by virtue of other most important sectors such as medicine, education and social. It is clearly seen that many people are still below the poverty line without medicine and food. Besides the importance of art and culture, authorities should be dedicated to poverty or public facilities rather than focus on art only. To conclude, I firmly believe that financial aid must be given for the culture and creative sector because this part is quite important for nations, however, I also believe that the government should finance and develop other sectors rather than art.