In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend

It is true that shopping is now being considered more of a leisure activity than in past. This approach is definitely affecting negatively to the present generations has they are loosing the realisation of money value and following this trend to enhance their status among others. To begin with, in todays era people are forgetting the value for money. This is because they are leading a much better standard of living than their parents or grandparents without much of hardwork. Furthermore,they have an easy access to financial resources by their parents. This indulges them to spend money on unuseful and unnecessary things. For instance, recent research on the 'Times of India' showed that trend of buying latest mobile phone's has upsurged to 80% by the youth, irrespective of wheather their older phones are well functioning or not. Moreover, purchasing materialistic things have now become a status symbol for individuals. This is because in order to be recognised in a society, one is ought to follow the latest trends and fashions. This inturn is providing path to a hollow and unrealistic lifestyle where people are spending huge amount to just show off. To exemplify, If a women is carrying a handbag of Gucci or Armani brands which are too costly, she is considered to be rich by society, even if she has no financial stability. To conclude, I strongly believe that, nowadays buying of things has become more of an obstructive event than constructive because it is encouraging the people to lead a show off life and disregarding the value of money.