The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The trend of eating meals individually has been raised among many families over the recent decades. This essay will discuss a number of reasons for this development and examine some consequences. Two main reasons can be considered to explain why many families are willing to eat separately. Firstly, the modern lifestyle has had a significant effect on changing the pattern of behaviour in several families. When parents are too busy, due to long time working outside the home, they fail to arrange a specific time for eating, and as a result of exhausting, are more willing to consume ready fast foods instead of cooking homemade foods. Consequently, each one eats individually based on their personal schedules. Secondly, advancement in technology has brought about too much attraction to vanish many traditional activities. Nowadays, most children tend to have their meals in front of the TV. Even worse is that many parents work with their mobile phones while eating. Therefore, although the family might be physically in one place, they do not have any sense of community. The development of this trend can have an adverse effect on the family close-knit and the society as well. To begin with, from a personal viewpoint, eating all members of a family together is a great opportunity to swap different opinions and probable daily issues leading to improve emotional bonds. The more people neglect this opportunity, the more they are likely to lose their community and turn to divorce in difficult times. Besides, from a social perspective, children’s personalities are shaped in their families. A child who has been deprived of growing up in a close-knit family is less likely to be generous in the future and may cause some issues for society. To sum up, some reasons such as modern lifestyle and advanced technology are disappearing shared family meals. This trend has certainly a lot of consequences on individuals and society.