People can eat a wide variety of food of other regions. As a result they are eating a lot of foreign food instead of locally produced food.Do you think the advantages of eating foreign food are more than its harms?

Nowadays, supermarkets are stocked with food products from around the world. As a result, people are being lured towards foreign food, and are not consuming the local produce. I believe the disadvantages of imported food outweigh the advantages. On the positive side, the ready availability of food from across the globe gives us a lot of choices. We can taste a variety of fruits and vegetables from all parts of the world. For example, about ten years ago, we hardly saw Kiwi fruit, which is from Newzealand. But, now it has a place on every fruit stand. Secondly, many people get employment in this field. Small farmers have a chance to expand globally and consequently, it increases the overall economy of the country. Finally, it helps in developing good relations between countries, which helps in international cooperation and peace.If countries were dependent upon one another's economic success, then the armed conflict would be less likely. On the other hand, imported food can have a negative effect on the local farmers.Locally produced food would not be able to compete with international produce.So, the local economy would suffer and people would go for other better sources of livelihood than agriculture.The local culture would also be threatened. This can be seen in countries such as India where imported food has become more popular than traditional local produce, eroding people's understanding of the food traditions. Earlier people in India sat together to eat their traditional meals, but fast food is generally eaten alone sitting in front of the TV. Although those some would claim that this is a natural part of economic development, in an increasingly global world. I feel strongly that any loss of regional culture would be detrimental. Another major effect of imported food is the environmental cost. Currently, Mani food imports such as fruit, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air,making the product more expensive to buy, and increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. Despite the fact that trade in food export has existed for many years, I am convinced that a reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains. In conclusion, I am certain  that if people ate locally produced food it would have environmental benefits. It would also benefit the local economy because, in time, people would prosper commercially as the demand for  local and regional produce would remain high resisting the competition from overseas.