Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

While there are many students who are able to study and live with their families, others have to leave their homes to study in another city. The benefits and drawbacks of both situations will be discussed in this essay. Studying far from family have a number of advantages. To begin with, since these students are responsible for many daily activities such as cooking and paying bills, they are more likely to be independent persons in their future lives. Besides, as they have the opportunity to live and communicate with different people from all walks of life, their interpersonal skills can be highly developed. However, these students encounter some challenges such as having less time for studying. Since they have to undertake all routine life responsibilities by themselves, they may not have sufficient time to allocate to their lessons. The students who are able to be with their families whereas studying at university can hold their degree less expensive. That is, they do not need to expense for renting accommodation and also having meals with the family is more economical. Another advantage of staying at home is that more family support can serve them a lot of benefits and they have always their families in case of facing a difficulty. Living with family, despite several merits, may have an adverse effect on the students ’ personalities. These individuals may find it more difficult to live independently in the future since they have been too reliant on their families for a long time. In conclusion, both situations will have some challenges along with providing students with many benefits. Studying alongside the family would be a more economical but less independent lifestyle, whereas education in another city provides the student with alone living and also more responsibilities.