Some people feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Most believe that the country should increase the proportion of locally produced food that's important for consumption while decreasing the importing to a smaller number. Although it's unrealistic to some territories, the economic implications are convincing. This essay aims to seek the cause, the nature and the positive aspect of this mindset To commence with, food adequacy for the entire population has been a concern for nations throughout the centuries, and producing more food locally is a way to keep food security. It's obvious that the citizens need food to survive and the government needs to stockpile food to prepare for the worst. To ensure food sufficiency, some governments encourage their citizens to produce more groceries. For example, in South East Asia, a lot of nations have created agricultural water facilities to help farmers with the production of rice and other crops. That's a useful strategy to achieve food security. In addition, this trend has a positive effect on the economy. As the demand for domestic food grows, more people can work in agriculture and other food factories. These fields can pay more taxes and increase the revenue for the country. This situation leads to a reduction in unemployment rates as well. The most salient example is Spain, they have encouraged domestic food production, and have experienced more than 15% economic growth over the last decade. Therefore, producing more food in the country has an evitable contribution to the economy. Moreover, supporters of this idea also believe that, with local products, it's easier to control food quality. Since everything is under our control, we can monitor resources, land, crop, and what pesticide is used. There are a lot of cases where the government detected and recalled some imported food containing banned substances. So with local food, we can protect the consumer with safe, hygienic food standards easier than the imported ones. To conclude, the outcome of local food -producing is very crucial whereas importing foreign products can create essential problems for the country, with loss of wealth and jobs, food security and quality.