In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Instilling confidence in children helps in their emotional development. Yet, in some cultures, this practice is not followed. In this essay, I will be discussing the positive and negative impacts of this method. The main advantage is that raising a child with a positive mentality increases the chances of success significantly. Moreover, parents are now allowing kids to make their own decisions at a very young age and this empowers them to become independent. Subsequently, enabling children to grow without an inferiority complex. Having said that, rather than focusing completely on giving false hope to youngsters it is also the duty of a parent to make sure they grow with a sense of reality. Despite these advantages, leading growing children to believe they can accomplish anything without logic may backfire as their mind is not completely developed to comprehend what it means. It will let them think, that they can do anything they want without having to deal with the consequences. For example, if a child is led to believe he/she can fly, then they might make an attempt to jump from heights which will lead to an injury. Therefore, false confidence should not be entertained. However, kids should be brought up with the right balance of positive thinking and truth. By way of conclusion, although building a child's character is important. It is equally important that they are raised in the right way of logical thinking, else it will lead to terrible outcomes.