Some people argue that the government should spend money on public services and facilities, but not on the arts. Do you agree or disagree?

Serving the basic needs of citizens is the topmost responsibility of any government. While many people debate that the government authorities should focus on spending budgets for public services and facilities, others suggest concentrating on promoting arts. I completely agree with the former statement and I will discuss the same in detail in my forthcoming essays with supporting information on why addressing the minimum needs of the public takes precedence over arts. The supporters of artists who believe that arts are not encouraged across the globe, demand government support to promote them. There are different types of artists in different fields who are ignored by society so the arts are pushed to the brink of their extinction. Artistic performances in many fields, for example, various dance forms, painting are not having any importance in society, so that youngsters choose them as one of the career aspects. Thus, some people protest to save the artistic culture so that the creative arts can be safeguarded. However, in my,opinion these are considered as one's passion after their basic needs are met. On the other hand, many people, including me believes that the essential needs to be provided in communities by the government. To be more precise, the government should allocate funds first in place for citizen services to provide the essential needs on a day-to-day basis to live a secured life. A hormonal society needs basic services such as affordable medication, water sources, transportation facility and security from the communal riots. The sustainability of a government without arranging these basic essentials would be at a stake, hence they should concentrate on allocating budgets for these critical needs instead of arts. In conclusion, while many people in society argue that the government should allocate funds to serve the basic services and facilities, others differ and suggest that authorities should focus on encouraging arts. I honestly believe that the basic essential services like food, shelter and clothing need to be served with proper funds allocation, moreover, arts can be looked at as the next immediate need in society after the basic facilities are met.