Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children, while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate whether the government or the parents are accountable for obesity in kids. Fast food chains have been blooming, therefore, it is undeniable that government plays a role in this cause. Nonetheless, being the primary contact of the children, parents are the first defence against this problem, which I firmly agree. On the one hand, those who support the idea of government being responsible for children’s obesity point to the increase in promotion of sweets and fast food on television. For example, it should not be allowed to advertise unhealthy foods on kids’ channels. Furthermore, the government should also implement a rule to ban junk food at school canteens so that children cannot access behind parents ’ surveillance. Finally, cheap and accessible fast food is enhancing the ease of reach, hence, higher taxes should be imposed on them which could lead to less frequent consumptions from consumers. By contrast, people who agree that parents are in charge of obesity of their offspring, state that parents should take the time to prepare nutritious food for their kids. For instance, preparing home cooked lunch boxes is a good way to refrain children from purchasing fattening food at school. Additionally, educating of the consequences of consuming fast food is also ideal to discourage youths from taking a liking to it. As a last point, it is also true that most kids prefer to spend their leisure time watching television or playing video games, involving little movements, which is why the guardians must encourage more physical activities for children’s physical health. To summarise, in my opinion, the stronger argument is in favour of the chances of obesity belonging to the parents, with all the factors of preparing meals and influencing to participate in physical movements. Without a doubt, the government should also be involved in deterring easy access to unhealthy food by imposing higher taxes, banning junk food commercials on children’s television channels, and refrain selling fast food at canteens.