School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is true that some people argue that a foreign language should not be one of the compulsory subjects at schools. While I believe that studying foreign languages is beneficial to some extent, I totally agree that they should not be forced to do so.    On the one hand, there are several reasons why children should be encouraged to study a foreign language Firstly, through learning about another language, students also know about the culture of that country. Moreover, several schools  arrange exchange visits which enable their pupils to immerse themselves in the country whose language they are studying. Secondly, by knowing a new language, children can access information that is only available in that language. For example, children can enjoy websites or read materials written in English. On the other hand, it could be counterproductive to forcibly oblige students to learn another language. One reason is that children can not learn effectively under compulsion. Thus, enthusiastic teachers should motivate students to learn a new language through stimulating language -learning activities. Another reason is that schoolchildren will be reluctant to learn a new language if they can see why it might relevant to their present or future lives. For instance, youngsters should not be forced to learn English if they are certain that they will never need or use it in the future. In conclusion, I would argue that schools should encourage, but not compel, children to learn a foreign language.