In order to solve traffic problems, Governments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The resolution of perennial traffic snarl-ups has attracted varied opinions, with one camp indicating that increasing taxation of private vehicle owners would generate increased revenue to address transportation problems. Opposing camps underscore the responsibility of the Government in providing and maintaining infrastructure and feel strongly that Governments should dedicate sufficient budgets from other revenue sources.. The advantage of reliance on expressway taxes to address transport issues is that revenues so collected can be solely used to improve such infrastructure without dipping into other coffers. Further, the state of roads would be a direct reflection of the taxes collected. On the flip side, in cases where the tax base is smaller, such funds could be limited especially considering public transport management is a high capital expenditure. Consequently, a mixed approach would be recommended, where Governments adequately tax all road users through fuel purchase, driving licenses, tolls, road licenses and fines where applicable. Similarly, the Government would set aside budgets for infrastructure development and use partnership models for example public-private partnerships- to plan and efficiently construct roads that can handle volumes of traffic. In conclusion, an optimal approach would be one that does not adversely impact private and public highway users nor Government budgets; especially those set aside for other important purposes. As previously mentioned, a hybrid approach would effectively actualize this scenario.