Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.

Nowadays, crime rates increase worldwide. Thus, a paramount eagerness to decrease these rates in many countries has appeared lately. Although some people claim that longer prison sentences are the effective way towards achieving this aim, other nations oppose that in favour of other humanitarian means to deter criminals from committing crimes. I agree with the latter view because it has a more permanent effect on individuals and societies. In this essay, I will discuss both views and declare my own opinion on this issue. Supporters of longer prison punishments assume that this type of punishment is simpler and more effective than any other way. These individuals believe that long imprisonment of criminals is better and easier than dealing with the consequences of their violent and hazardous crimes. Murderers, for instance, who are imprisoned for several years are deterred from killing people on the streets or domestically. If these prisoners are released after short periods of imprisonment, they could destroy their society and lead to an increase in social insecurity. Therefore, these people recommend that dangerous offenders should be subjected to longer prison sentences. On the contrary, opponents believe that there are two alternative means to decrease crime. The first way is the rehabilitation procedure, where offenders are subjected to psychological therapy and educational knowledge. Denmark is a remarkable example of a nation that succeeded in replacing jail with rehabilitation and achieving the lowest rates of crime in Europe in the last decade. Another means is to force criminals to take part in social services. This action will assist those citizens to be more attached to their social identity and raise their sense of belonging, which will prevent them from breaking the law. Consequently, applying these humanitarian procedures will have a more permanent effect on the individual and social levels. In conclusion, in my point of view, replacing long prison sentences with psychological, educational and social awareness has a better effect on citizens and their societies. Hence, governments should offer more rehabilitation centres and social service opportunities for their citizens to lower the number of crimes in their countries.