These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, with the effect of advancement in technology,youngsters have replaced their habits of participating in sports activity by indulging into computer games. The main reason for this approach is lack of availability of playgrounds and thus this trend imposes a detrimental effect on child's physical and psychological development. To begin with, it is been observed that number of playgrounds for youngsters and adults are detoriorating. This is because, with the increase in population and urbanisation,much space is being occupied for residential and commercial purpose. As a result, cities and towns are becoming concrete jungles which does not encourage outdoor activities to take place. To exemplify, the recent survey by the Times Now showed that Gurugram population has upsurged in last 5 years to 50% which led to cutting on playgrounds and parks. Furthermore, this increased trend of prolonged use of computer technology games is encouraging a negative effect on the development of childs child physical and mental health. This is to say that, the youngsters are leading more of a sedentary lifestyle than ever before. Moreover, lack of physical sports is leading to lack of excersize and body fitness. Another important factor is that, the continous staring on screens is leading to the mental instability and weak eyesight. To illustrate, the current survey done by one health NGO showed that there is an increase in more than 60% of young people who are facing problems of obesity in recent times. To conclude, it is true that continous use of computer screens is having an obstructive effect on adult's and childern's physical and mental health and the main reason contributing to this,is lack of space for them to play outdoor games.