In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

Evergrowing cities are forcing people to build houses in the countryside resulting in environmental and social challenges. Few people think that protecting the countryside from these challenges is important than allowing new house construction. However, homes are very important to mankind, and is considered one of the basic right of every individual. I believe allowing the expansion of home construction into villages are critical to satisfying the basic need of human beings which is a shelter for all, and the essay shall try to put forward my rationale behind the thought. An increase in population is a reality, while we attempt to control the population by various means it is also important for every country to accommodate their citizens. Most of the metropolitan cities are already overcrowded and the only way to expand the construction is to motivate people to settle in nearby villages. For instance, Bangalore is one of the most crowded cities and had an explosion in the city population in the last decade due to migration from within and outside the state due to the availability of jobs triggered by the advent of information technology companies moving to the city in large numbers during last ten to fifteen years. Owning a home in the city had become almost impossible for the middle class and below due to the ever-increasing prices because of heavy demand initiated by spontaneous migration, forcing the government to promote settlement in nearby villages. Provided that the new development and settlement in villages is a fact the only option left in front of the government is to give guidance on how this can be done without destroying the nature and social ecosystems of the countryside. For example, the government can come up with instructions related to the area of construction of houses in rural areas, promote eco-friendly construction methodologies in the countryside and other guidance. To conclude, the expansion of construction in the countryside is a necessity to satisfy one of the basic needs of human beings. Governments rather than opposing this natural expansion should promote this phenomenon but control it with appropriate guidelines.