Some people think that because of email and telephone, communication among people is less personal now than it used to be. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is believed that modern ways of communication like email and telephone are less personal than talking face-to-face. This essay disagrees with the fact as the young generation are adapting to these modes and folk who are less confident in person are able to communicate and express themselves better through them. It is true that most people are not able to communicate better through phone or email, as they miss out on visual cues and a lot is lost in translation. Moreover, the human mind is evolved in such a way that it is accustomed to seeing faces while talking or listening; therefore, it feels natural while conversating physically. Some people often trust each other less if they are on a phone or they are emailing, rather than meeting in person. This also leads to the fact that critical conversations in an organisation are done through in-person meetings rather than through phone calls or emails. On the other hand, youngsters are getting used to telephone communication, since they are born amongst technological advancements. For them, it is indifferent as they are adapted to talk on phones or through text. Also, people who are less confident while talking physically prefer talking on phones and they are able to express themselves in a better way. Furthermore, these ways of communication are much more accessible and feasible. For instance, it helps people from different countries to talk without any problems. Sometimes, even if people are close, they have no option but to rely on these devices. For instance, during a pandemic, they help people to connect with their loved ones. To conclude, I disagree that people are less personal while communicating through these devices. In fact, I believe that these communication modes are changing people ’s way of conversation including the way they express their emotions, as evident from the case of youngsters and people who are less confident.