The rising levels of traffic congestion in many big cities around the world can cause the decline in the quality of life in cities. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is undeniable that several urban cities across the globe nowadays are facing a rise in the level of road congestions which directly affects the satisfaction of city life. There seem to be two main issues influencing the situation, however, there are a couple of feasible solutions to counteract this problem. The main cause contributing to unpleasant traffic is the fact that most businesses are located in the city. Consumers, employees and logistic partners are required to travel to and from those office buildings, thus, the number of vehicles for this is considerably high. In addition, the working hours for the staff are overlapping which further exacerbate the traffic concerns. For example, most office hours begin at eight in the morning and ends around five in the evening. Hence, it can be deduced that the congestions are partially caused by the automobiles of those daily commuters. Regarding possible solutions, probably the most immediate solution would be to assign some workers to work from home, given that the technological advances have made it possible to do so. For instance, video conferences can replace face-to-face meetings and remote access to company resources can be done through the cloud architecture and the internet. This will undoubtedly eliminate their purpose to travel to the city on a daily basis. Secondly, companies could consider flexible working hours for their staff so that all of them will not have to commute to the office at the same time. Lastly, those living in neighbouring premises could consider carpooling to their job locations to lower the number of personal cars. To sum up, the main factors causing this problem are the concentrated location of businesses in the city and the similarity in work schedules of the individuals. The possible measures to solve this problem involve work from home arrangements, flexible office hours and sharing of vehicles for work commute which will inevitably ease the high level of traffic congestion in the city.