Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Every year, the decision about going or not going to university among juniors is always a big topic. Some students follow their parents’ guidance that colleges are their safe futures. Others are confident that a gap year will help them figure out their best way of life, and they will choose their education depends on what could help them go through difficulties they’ve met. This essay will discuss both sides, and my personal opinion will be given. On one hand, people believe that university will advance their knowledge and skills which are useful in their career paths. This is not wrong, but it might not be enough. Comprehension in school is sometimes lack of practical elements. Moreover, some students find it difficult to apply understanding in books to reality. For example, in Vietnam, a lot of hospitality graduates only learn English in class but never speak to a real foreigner. Furthermore, the learning period would cost at least 3 to 4 years. By that time, new applications would have been invented and graduates’ knowledge becomes corny. On the other hand, if we understand university nature as a place that we can research our best way of learning, where we can try to apply different ideas, the skills to manage everything around us, we can keep our mindsets open forever. Schools should act as a tool for students to understand the world. It should not be limited to books so students can only read but cannot solve a small challenge such as reading maps. In conclusion, I agree that university should not be a place that gives us all the answers of life but a process that gives us implements, which teach us how to find solutions. By then, we will move forward and adapt to all toughness.