In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming increasingly common that many organizations overly place their focus on the novelty of their products., Personally I think this may bring more negative impacts to society, especially for consumers. Firstly, one of the main reasons for this phenomenon is to be attractive and to boost sales. There is a principle that consumers are more likely to purchase a new product or a unique one in the market, so as they might feel proud of their novel and optimal goods. Therefore, manufacturers change their products’ appearance on a more frequent basis in order to meet their desired customers’ needs. Secondly, emphasizing a product is new might make it to be more competitive in the market, so it can stand confidently on the supermarket’s stalls. However, condensed ads on TV perhaps make viewers might be apathetic and get bored because they are sure that there is nothing new but just the brand and appearance outside. Take Coca-cola and Pepsi as examples, these brands have changes their icons and product’s designs over time in accordance with new features, nevertheless, such alterations relating to new features as advertised may be rarely recognized by their consumers. Needless to say, in some worse circumstances, users may think that the same price with that product called “new” may affect the quality in some certain extent as producers have to spare their budget into these advertising campaigns and of course something must be cut down due to this. To conclude, businesses are eligible to advertise and promote their products, however, they should think from the consumer’s perspective in order to attain their intentionally desired effects.