Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that the extinction of many species is the major issue that harms the environment, while others consider the impact of recurring other environmental problems to be more vital. Although the latter view can be true to some extent, in my opinion, the former view is more reasonable. On the one hand, it is believed that other environmental problems such as natural disasters and global warming are worth considering on account of some reasons. Firstly, the frequency and severity of hurricanes, tsunamis, and blizzards have destroyed many people's lives, houses and caused a huge amount of damage. For instance, the volcanic eruption in Japan destroyed the land and the facilities there and cost a major huge amount of money to fix the infrastructure, aid the victims and recover the economy. Secondly, global warming is also a serious issue that needs more attention since its implications are irreversible. In fact, it is challenging for humans to address the consequences such as ice melting and ozone layer depletion caused by the earth’s rising temperature. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that the extinction of different animals and plants is more harmful than the aforementioned issues because of the significantly rising number of endangered species in the last decade. To elaborate, the disappearance of several animals and plants in the wild will lead to a loss in the food chain that can lead to the other animals being endangered such as causing devastating chain reactions with other wild animal species and people. This can be exemplified by the case of the extinction of some insectivorous birds, which result in the increasing number of harmful insects damaging the crops and the natural habitats of other species. In the long run, human beings can also be affected by the imbalance in the ecosystem, threatening humans’ survival. In conclusion, I accept that other environmental problems such as natural disasters and global warming can cause serious damage to nature, yet I still strongly believe that the extinction of the fauna and flora is a more worrying problem in the contemporary time since it has direct effects on the human lives in the long term.