Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Drink pollution is very bad for both human society and animal life. Contamination of streams, ponds and marines are individuals worry, as they look for ways to secure the surroundings from this. This essay will first suggest fertilizers and pesticides as the key elements that bring about pollution of water and then state that poisoning and sickness are the impacts it has on the community. Fertilizers and pesticides are for helping the plants grow and killing pests that destroy the crops of farmers, respectively. The disposal of these products is not well managed most times, leaving some of them to run off to surface waters thereby contaminating the drink for mankind to drink. Another cause of this is leaks of oil and chemicals from companies to rivers, lakes and seas. These corporations use harmful gases to make their products although, hazards could enter the water nearby the company. For example, a survey was conducted last year on the harm induced by oil companies that make plastics and 75% of them were associated with drink impurities. On the other hand, the effects caused by these problems include the trauma of livestock and the poisoning it causes to the human system. For fishes that live underwater and animals drink from streams, it is seen to be very uncomfortable for them to survive with these dangerous substances. It can make them sick and as well, the people who consume these animals. A prime example is a test carried out by scientists in 2005 for the leading cause of food poisoning in the United States and the statistics showed that 90% of them were as a result of Nitrates and phosphorus gases consumed by tilapia fish which is a popularly eaten fish by Americans. In conclusion, farmers and oil companies managing their waste better can minimize these outcomes, however, the effects on livestock and humankind are deadly.