Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many successful sports professionals earn more as compared to people working in other professions. While many agree that comparatively higher earning capacity of sportspersons is justifiable, others tend to differ. In this essay, I will share my views on both school of thoughts and share my opinion. People tend to side with the view that the salaries of sports players are justified because of the hard- work that players put into their careers to be reach a successful stage. A sportsperson is said to be successful after consistent victories and winning a number of recognitions in terms of medals and trophies, and to reach this stage, a player puts in years of hard work and training. Therefore, when the hard work finally pays off in terms of handsome salaries and complementary benefits such as sponsorships, opportunity to become brand ambassador of a number of consumer goods, it seems justifiable. For example, Mahinder Singh Dhoni, former captain of Indian cricket team, was a middle-class railways worker who worked really hard to achieve his dream of being a successful cricketer and wealth followed after he bagged a number of victories for Indian cricket team in terms of national recognition by government and sponsorships of many multi-national companies. On the other hand, other professions including doctors, army, teachers, bankers etc. are the true backbone of a country’s economy. These professionals also work tirelessly, including many years of education and investing a significant amount of money in their educations, in order to achieve their goal of becoming a certain professional. In addition to this, such professionals contribute directly to the economy of a country and providing their services to general masses on a daily basis. For instance, doctors work 24×7 to treat ill and elderly, teachers educate people who eventually contribute to the development of a country and economists make economic policies which are a key to running a country smoothly. However, the contributions of such professionals are not entirely complemented by their salaries. A teacher, for instance, earns approximately Rs.15, 000-20,000 per month on average which is way less than a successful sportsperson. Therefore, it can be said that other professions salaries do not justify for their efforts. In my opinion, the salaries of other professionals should be increased, if not matched to a successful sports player, to the extent that their efforts are well compensated. This is essential as the world can survive without successful sports professionals but would be a chaos without good doctors, scientists and teachers. The significance of good doctors and scientists was recently highlighted during the COVID-19 pandemic which warrant for increase in monetary benefits for such professions as compared to sports people. In addition to this, I believe the government should come up with polices to have a minimum starting fixed salary of a fresh graduate so that they can fulfill their daily needs and support their families comfortably. In conclusion, I would say that sports professionals put in a great deal of effort and money to become successful, however, other professions contribute to the well-being, and development of a nation on a daily basis. Therefore, the salaries of successful sports player is justified to some extent but other professions are more worthy of higher salaries and other monetary benefits.