The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental Problems owing to the overconsumption of fossil fuels can be mitigated in a variety of ways. However there is a certain fraction of people who believe that raising the fuel prices is one way to go about it. In my opinion, this is not the most efficient manner on how to tackle this issue As we are all aware, we live in a highly inter connected world today in fact I can say the whole world is a Global Village, whereby we are all dependent on each other for various good and services which are made available to us on time due to the transportation industry and what is the most essential element of this industry? Fossil fuels indeed. Therefore raising the prices of fuels can have a negative pact altogether whereby the transportation industry suffers our living standards will be depleted not to mention the fatal blow to the global economy as well. One way on how this problem can be addressed is by imposing carbon tax on Vehicles and industry whereby people are encouraged to reduce their carbon footprints on earth by encouraging car-pooling while going to work, taking up public transportation, asking people to ride bicycles while travelling short distances etc. Moreover countries need to spend adequately on the research and development of alternate modes of fuel such as wind energy,tidal energy and solar energy whose impacts on our eco system are less harmful and whose availability is not scarce. Therefore nations and individuals must collectively realise that we don’t have another planet to move to once we destroy our earth and take matters into their own hands for the preservation of our ecosystem by reducing their carbon usage.