Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that many people tend to let their old parents live in nursing homes, instead of taking care of these elderly people at home. I would agree that this trend has both advantages and disadvantages, and there are some points below. To begin with the positives, the biggest advantage of nursing facilities for elderly people is that these places provide intensive care. This is because care homes have professionally- trained staff who can provide appropriate meal diets or specialized healthcare. Conversely, many families may only care for the elderly with regard to basic needs such as dressing, bathing, and eating. Besides special care, such places usually organize leisure activities for the aged to take part in. Leisure clubs, for example, are places where elderly people socialize and share their common interests with others, and these activities can help them feel a sense of community and befriend fellow people. However, sending old people to nursing homes often puts a financial strain on their families. The reason for this is that the cost of nursing care is typically expensive, and some families can not afford the cost. In contrast, if they look after old people at home, they might avoid such costs. Another issue is that old people must live away from their loved ones because their nursing facilities may be far from their homes. As a result, their relatives might only visit them at weekends or holidays, and this would mean they often lack family bonds and feel distressed. In conclusion, although nursing homes may offer specialized care and many community activities, they might be costly to cover and lacking in families presence.