Some people say television is useful for education, while others think it’s useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Television is one of the initial technologies which have brought development to human society. Some people think it is beneficial in terms of entertainment only, while I agree with those who think it is useful for education and others. In this essay I will provide some examples to support my point of view. Most people think that television provides entertainment, this is because it is mostly known as a channel for watching soap operas. For example, according to the latest survey conducted by the Government Public Relations Department, it reveals that 80% of Thai people watch TV for relaxing reasons, and the statistic shows the highest rating during the soap opera time around 8.30 PM-10.30PM in every day. Therefore, watching television for relaxing reasons is the best reasons for some people. On the other hand, some people think that it has another usefulness such as education terms. The most important reason is that programs on TV have various purposes whether entertainment, education, informed knowledge or advertisement. For instance, TV programs such as National Geographic or English for Fun programs would be for education purposes mainly, but also attach with entertainment at the same time. Therefore, I strongly believe that TV is not only useful for entertainment, but also has other benefits which depend on people could choose suit to individual purpose. Television is the platform for many purposes which depend on the audiences' purposes. Therefore, people should choose to watch programs which suit to their own purpose, this would be great benefit of television if the audiences choose appropriately with the right purpose and time.