Some people regard the video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own.

There is currently a continuous argument over whether youngsters are being harmed or benefited by computerized games. I totally agree with this opinion that electronic games such as Xbox, PlayStation and Nintendo give rise to a number of children's physical and mental health. Therefore, their substantial drawbacks outweigh their benefits. The main reason why some people believe that computer games have destructive effects on kids' physical health is that the nature of these so-called childish games provides a context in which children incline to a sedentary lifestyle and eat junk food during playing; therefore, gradually take distance from active life. As a consequence, gaining weight and obesity emerges. What's more, these games may pose very serious mental problems for them. Part of children's misbehaviour results from video games mainly because kids don’t have the mental maturity to draw a distinction between the real world and fantasies of games. As a result, they may show a desire to imitate the reactions of the main characters in these programs which is naturally followed by aggression, bullying and even delinquency. On the other hand, others consider video games as a non-harmful hobby for youngsters. People often have this opinion because they feel playing games can have a positive influence on children's mental growth and skills like problem-solving, accuracy and so on. Indeed, in some games, gamers have to analyze a problem immediately and carefully and find the right solution to tackle the matter. For instance, The Bridge as one of the best Puzzle Video Games is a clear-cut example of Level Up Problem-Solving skills. Hence, these games provide a ground on which kids are able to improve their accuracy and problem-solving. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that their substantial drawbacks outweigh their benefits and these games can be used under parents' supervision.