Nowadays, people of all ages from certain parts of the world spend most of the time at home rather than going outdoors. Discuss the reasons, is this negative or positive development?

The question of where to spend our free time has long been debated. Some people believe that staying indoors is the best use of their time, whereas others feel that engaging in outdoor activities are better. While the optimal use of free time is subjective, I think it is better to spend more time outside the home. It is easy to understand why many choose to relax at home nowadays. With the ever increasing competition, numerous people work long and exhausting hours in order to ensure job security or a promotion. When the working day is done, most would choose to return home and rest, rather than head out to play sports or meet friends. This is made even more attractive by the advances in entertainment technology, with most homes having a plethora of devices which help you unwind. From High Definition televisions to next generation computer consoles, our homes offer a wide range of activities to help us pass the time. Even so, the reliance on technology as a way to relax is not without its consequences. Spending time at home doing sedentary activities will increase the risk of developing associated health problems, such as obesity, high blood pressure, and diabetes. Additionally, using your computer as a means of communication and entertainment is likely to weaken the bonds you share with family, friends, and neighbors, leading to breakdown in social cohesion. Activities done outside mitigate both of these potential risks, as light exercise will keep you in good health and social interactions strengthen the relationships we have with others while offering mutual enjoyment. While it is reasonable to want to spend time at home in order to recharge your batteries after a long day at work, it is important to make time for more social activities too. This will not only have a great effect on your social life but also improve your overall health and well-being.