People buy a product if it fulfills their needs, there is no need for advertisement. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

The importance of the product advertisement which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over the potential impact in recent years. I can partly agree with the topic statement and describe the reasons in the forthcoming paragraphs. There are myriad reasons which will further explain this argument but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that the adverts help the community save money by informing them about real bargains. For example, Catalogues and brochures enable the public to compare prices and products. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that if you do not have time to shop around, you can rely on commercials to learn about new commodities. Also, advertisements inform consumers about the environmental impacts of products. Needless to say, all these merits stand in good stead. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend but one of the most alarming ones is that advertising is often for products and services that we do not really need. A lot of promotions create artificial wants. For instance, people often buy things only because of the image of power, success and glamour associated with them. Besides, children are easily influenced by commercials and then pester their parents to buy certain things. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend. To summarize, adverts have positive and negative effects on people choices. It varies individually. It is not good to say that there is no need for product promotion. All things in the universe have their pros and cons.