Online classes make conventional classrooms unnecessary. To what extend do you agree/disagree

As the Internet increases inexorably recent years, e-learning has became a topic of interest. Many people believe that virtual learning can completely replace the traditional classroom because of its advance and convenience. While this thinking is valid in certain extent, I believe that online courses are still questionable at best and cannot take the place of physical classroom model. To begin with, learning through online platforms have admittedly several benefits for students. Firstly, e-learning is cost-efficient because it does not require a brick-and-mortar location. As a result, students could reduce the burden of facilities fees. Moreover, online courses can help their learners overcome time constraints and geographical boundaries, especially in the pandemic situation such as COVID-19 when many students are not allowed to enter foreign countries. However, despite the aforementioned benefits, I believe that disadvantages of web-based learning are more glaring. The first drawback is that virtual learning can engender some valid concerns regarding to the examination cheating and students ’ conduct. It would be a challenge for teachers to control their pupils only through technological devices and virtual environment. Another pronounced disadvantage is the lack of many elements that only physical classroom can provide students. Learning online would limit the inextricably physical interaction in classes, which could lead to the degradation of students ’ interest and even interpersonal skills such as teamwork, idea discussion or communication in the long term. Moreover, subjects that require the elaborate lab set-up and equipment such as science, or physics need to be hosted face to face in order to provide students a genuine experience. In conclusion, while the obvious benefits make e-learning seem a good idea, I believe that the given disadvantages would not help it become a worthwhile choice.