Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own experience or knowledge.

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, often abbreviated as STEM are now gaining widespread attention as the most important subject to be learned by students. To some extent, many people hold this view because some institutions begin to measure a nation's competitiveness by their achievement of STEM tests. However, some people believe that studying about the past will bring enormous benefit to society as a whole. In this essay, I will elaborate further on both views. On one hand, it is inevitable that countries with outstanding performance in the field of science enjoy a higher standard of living and having a more vibrant economy, and thus becoming an inspiration for the less developed nations. Moreover, the accumulation of science has a plethora of benefits, such as, the internet that connects people all around the globe and has made long-distance and cross-border collaboration viable, while the invention of computers has led to the introduction of new products and services that make life easier and more manageable for human. On the other hand, history itself plays a pivotal role in the advancement of a country. It is as if we are driving a car, sometimes we need to look at the rearview mirror to grasp our surroundings to make a thorough assessment prior to deciding an action, learning history allows us to look for the lesson from our ancestors as well as their mistakes so that we may sail forward to the future more confidently while minimizing negative consequences from our actions. All in all, some debates notwithstanding, every subject taught in schools has its own importance for the advancement of the community.