Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Environmental issues indeed are one of the prevalent phenomena nowadays which results in polarized opinion among society. Many people believe that either government or every individual is responsible for protecting the natural environment. However, I believe that there is a dire need for both parties to take collective assertiveness to safeguard the natural environment. To begin with, it is often argued that the government should implement strict laws and penalties to safeguard natural resources. Thus, it should impose heavy duties and taxes on the extraction of natural resources and encourages the use of renewable sources of energy like solar, wind and hydro energies. However, it is also argued that individuals must protect the environment by limiting the unnecessary use of natural resources which are plaguing our planet. Activities like wastage of natural drinking water, burning of fuels, deforestation and excess hunting by humans are rapidly outpacing the planets ability to absorb those damages which result in the increasing the rate of deterioration globally. Nevertheless, I believe that it is the dire responsibility of both the government and every individual to take collective measures to protect our natural resources. Government policies and rules are incomplete and ineffective if it is not implemented and supported by the individual. For instance, the government has made a strict law against the usage of plastic bags in Delhi. However, people are least bother about the hazardous effects of plastic on the environment and thus they use it on a large scale. After analyzing the above scenario, it is not very hard to come to the consensus that it is not only the responsibility of a single stakeholder but instead both government and individual must protect their environment by taking radical actions.