Some people say that advertisement encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Other say that advertisement tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoints do you agvreee with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern era, an enormous number of types of goods and services is available and competing aggressively. Consequently, our lives are now surrounded by a massive amount of advertisements. Regarding this matter, some people think that the advertisement drives us to purchase unnecessary things, while others think of it as beneficial as it introduces us to new valuable products. As a matter of fact, this essay will elaborate further on the reason I am inclined to the latter thought. First of all, hundreds of new products and services are invented every day, either a breakthrough product or an improvement of an existing one. Nonetheless, both types of products offer better value and proposition for their customer, which needs to be introduced to the market, by the mean of ads, to fully materialize. For example, in the past, the computer was a new product and only a few could afford it, but by virtue of extensive advertising, today computers sit at nearly every individual's desk facilitating more productive and innovative work. Moreover, the quest for things we need is burdensome unless we have enough information, which somehow is made available through the use of advertising. Second of all, despite some people say being overwhelmed by a massive amount of ads, I believe that humans are conscious beings, able to make rational decisions. For example, when I need to purchase a new smartphone, countless advertisements are everywhere, nonetheless, the information of an array of goods that is easily accessible helps me to make an informed decision of the choice that will suit me best. To conclude, despite some negative consequences, advertisement is the heart of a vibrant open economy that is beneficial for society in the long run