In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It has become increasingly common in recent years for individuals globally to dress in western-influenced clothing. In my opinion, this is a natural result of corporate and cultural globalization and is broadly negative. The main cause of this phenomenon is globalization. This relates firstly to culture. The growth of the media industry generally and online media more specifically has spread primarily American cultural values. Individuals living in distant nations watch the latest blockbuster Hollywood movies, listen to the same singers and emulate their lifestyle choices including fashion. Secondly, mass production enables this homogeneity. Hundreds of years ago, consumers had no choice other than to buy clothes produced by local artisans. Now, companies like Louis Vuitton and Tommy Hilfiger can fabricate identical items of clothing to be shipped globally at affordable prices, forcing many local businesses into bankruptcy. The positive side of this trend, lower prices and potential inspiration from western fashion, are largely overshadowed by the injurious impact on cultural diversity. For example, in many parts of Asia, there are the rich cultural traditions of various ethnic minorities. These skilled garment-makers follow traditions dating back hundreds of years. The clothing produced is not only beautiful, but also more environmentally friendly and unique. However, these days few local residents are interested as they prefer wealthy western fashion brands that showcase their social status. The result is that the values being espoused by trend are material wealth and appearances rather than tradition, culture, and artistic skill. In conclusion, western fashion trends are ubiquitous today due to the effects of globalization and this represents a negative shift in values. Individuals should therefore strive to ignore these trends and purchase clothes that express their culture better when possible.